My First Review


Today, to truly christen this site, I want to post a quick review of a book I recently read. I am not very accomplished at writing reviews. Sometimes I lack the words to voice the emotion the book elicits, but I love to read and I love telling people about the great reads. Today I’m talking about angels. I just finished a beautiful story about an angel who falls in love with a man.

Here is Forsaking Eternity.

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing

ISBN: 9781419933226

Renatus is a legalist and knows the rules better than most. But knowing the Law doesn’t stop him from imagining the press of a hard male body against his, or remembering one forbidden kiss that left him hungry for more. He leaves Heaven to mingle with mankind, hoping that satisfying curiosity will quell desire. He finds Adam, a college professor who has given up on love.

Adam once dreamed of finding the perfect man and settling down. His dreams and trust were shattered when he found out the truth about his ex. Meeting Renatus seduces Adam into taking another chance on love. But Ren is keeping secrets, and the only promise he will make is that he will leave.

Now the Most High has commanded Renatus to retrieve the Law of Men and Angels, and a vengeful demon is circling, waiting for her opportunity to strike. Staying is impossible, leaving unbearable, and Ren wants to succumb to temptation, forsaking eternity for a life on Earth with Adam.

Voirey did a beautiful job of melding tenderness and strength in this book. My only regret was that is was much too short.

Ren’s hesitation to venture into a relationship was portrayed masterfully within the confines of this world.Despite the rules, he makes hard choices and lives with the consequences. A man after my heart. I loved the internal and external conflict used to bring him to truth in his heart.

The attraction between Ren and Adam are genuinely displayed and their love tenderly fulfilled. I was moved by the compassion and warmth exchanged between the two characters. I am a sucker for  a love story, even one between two men.

I give this a book five slices in my slice of heaven meter.

One thought on “My First Review

Leave a Reply

