No Hair… It’s Embarrassing


As a writer alone at home all day, I have a special companion to keep me company. He isn’t my choice, mind you, but he is perfect for me. Really, he isn’t even mine. My hubby bought him for our daughter last year, but he stays with me every day. I feed him, pamper him with treats, smother him with hugs and kisses and basically see to all his needs. He is the sweetest little Shitzu to ever grace the face of this earth.

As the mother of BIG teenagers and feeling the effects of almost empty nest syndrome, this little fellow fulfills all those motherly requirements we older moms experience. Yes, he is my baby and he keeps me on track with this writing gig.

Well…. Cooper (that’s his name), being a Shitzu, requires regular grooming or his hair becomes unmanageable. He is the most adorable thing on four legs. (No extreme prejudice here is there?)

This is the before look. Don’t you just want to hug and coddle the little guy? I can’t help it, I’m a sap! Beneath all that hair are numerous balls of matted hair. That fact doesn’t become evident until I take him to the groomers the next day and they tell me he will have to have a shorter cut than requested. No problem! We just need the little guy cleaned up. He is an inside dog with an outside dog heart, running from one end of this farm to the next, collecting all sorts of smells,twigs and weeds and God knows what else.

This is what we picked up.

He has never been so nude in his short life. Needless to say, the poor little guy was embarrassed to almost tears. He stayed in the house, going out only when Mama made him. He curled into his chair and watched the world for the first two days, his chin resting on the arm of said chair. In the early morning chill, shivers overtook him. He was pitiful. I covered him with a blanket at night.

When I made him go outside he shivered to violently from the cold I had to put a sweater on him.

Thank goodness our daughter insisted on the purchase of doggie wear this winter. Of course her mother scoffed and vehemently protested but ended up caving… as you can see.

The sweater didn’t ease any of his self consciousness, by the way. It only made him an easier target for the big black puppy when he attacked the little fellow. Those puppy teeth grab on to the fabric and hold on relentlessly.

By the end of the week, Cooper is his old frisky self again. It just takes time to get used to his new skin.

He now plays as usual. Thank goodness. That sort of emotional upheaval to one of my kids really upsets this Mama. It is good to see them come out of it relatively unscathed.

I know you all have a writing buddy, be it feline, canine, rabbit, equine. I’d love to hear about them. Leave me a note.

Nena

One thought on “No Hair… It’s Embarrassing

Leave a Reply

