My Newest Find


I just wanted to jot down a few words about my newest writing tool.

I have been writing in Word for the past four years. I figured out my own special form of organizing the chapters and whole document for each WIP. Of course, as a novice I had no idea what the heck I was doing back then. I just wrote a chapter and started a new document with each successive chapter. Then combined them all together in one final document that I did the edits on. You can imagine the number of documents I had in each of those book folders… lots! That method worked just fine for four whole 90k novels and several short stories and a few novellas. It was working out pretty well until I learned of the versatility of this other writing software.

I recently purchased Scrivener software.

I had looked into Scrivener last year when it was just in the beta stage for PC’s. After talking to many different friends and acquaintances who use the program already I knew I needed to consider it for my writing as well. They all raved about it and swore such loyalty to it’s usefulness I had to check it out.

Before November I made the plunge. In time for NanoWriMo. I went meticulously through the tutorial and started character sketches for the main characters. Then I dove in with my new book, but I didn’t sign up for Nano. The stress it gives me makes it horrendous for me to do it. There is so little time with work and family life.

Just a week into Scrivener I realized the treasure of it all. Instead of writing the whole chapter, I can break it into scenes and then label the scenes with cards and rearrange those cards to move the scene. What freedom! I have place to put all the information on one character or information for a scene. It is all right in the document instead of me hunting a website or papers I’ve copied off the web and stuffed into a notebook (though I still keep a paper notebook anyway). There are so many other useful features. You have to use it to really understand.

To wrap it all up, I am soo glad I made the purchase. I plan on signing up for an on-line class to really learn the ins and outs of the software by Gwen Hernandez. She also wrote a book (one of a few) Scrivener for Dummies.

https://gwenhernandez.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/scrivenerfdcover.png?w=239&h=300

Armed with this new knowledge I will knock out every book that pops into my head. I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Nena

One thought on “My Newest Find

  1. Whoo hoo! I’m so glad to hear that you’re liking it. I did get the beta when they released it, but I didn’t really give it a chance. I can get it for 50% off since I finished NaNo, so I think I’d be a fool not to take the plunge. I’m going to buy it this month (and Gwen’s book) and try to get a handle on it before I start my next novel in January. Thanks for sharing your experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

