Gotta Keep that Heart Pumping!!


As a romance writer I know all about the heart pumping away. It’s what makes us all hot and bothered. (I love hot and bothered.) But…..

On a practical note, it also keeps us healthy and fit – if we take excellent care of it. I am not a fitness fanatic, but I am somewhat of a health fanatic. I work in the medical field in my day job and I know how important it is to keep my body healthy. If we don’t take a proactive approach to our health and bodies we will end up sick and out of shape. I want to keep my mind sharp and the best way I know to do that is to keep my body awake and mobile. It sort of connects don’t you think? The brain is firing with all sorts of ideas and bunnies because all those muscles are moving making the blood flow … back to the BRAIN!

Sorry. Tangent there.

Personally, I do a thirty minute elliptical exercise daily with some Pilates or Yoga a few times a week. It’s about all my older body will handle. (Hate aging. So debilitating) But! exercise really does keep me moving.

This brings me to an awesome little find. I was watching the weekend Today show just after New Years and Jenna Wolfe put forth a very minimal exercise routine for all of us office rats. Sitting in a chair is of dire importance for word count and finishing that breakout novel.

I have done these exercises so they are totally doable. No excuses and they don’t take any space just a little time. That is no excuse either. We all have to take a break every hour, don’t we?

Click on the link and Jenna will give the whole run down. Remember now… you have to keep that heart pumping to get your brain really engaged.

I am sorely lacking in skills to get this to embed.  Here is the link that gives you the video. Very easy and straight forward.

http://video.today.msnbc.msn.com/today/50436725#50436725

Just do it! (To borrow a phrase.)

And happy writing in your new, fit body!!

Nena

Leave a Reply

