Weekly Remedy – Birthdays


Birthdays can be great… until you get to be my age. But this doesn’t have anything to do with my own birthday.

Today is the birthday of my eldest son.

Thirty-four years ago he made me a mom. I am so proud to be his mom. And I can’t believe that much time has passed since the day of his birth. I still see him as a four-year old, then that obnoxious fourteen year old and then graduating from high school. Boy, the time flies when you’re having fun.

All day long I went through my day with a tiny glow knowing that this was the day he was born. I remember the incredible joy of being a mother, of bringing this new life into the world. How we inspected every piece of him, making sure he had all his little parts. He was perfect and healthy and complete. So much emotion and happiness filled me I almost couldn’t sleep. A profound experience for any of us.

Jeremy

Did I mention he is the father to my only grandchild?

Puts Jeremy right up there.

And he’s a lot like his daddy. Full of life and bright and loves Star Wars and super heroes and trucks and electronics. All the things important in this world. I should mention Riley’s mama has a great deal invested in this adventure.

Happy Birthday Jeremy.

I want to remind you all that a birthday, any birthday, is a great excuse for celebration and will always make you smile. A smile is a remedy for any ailment.

Nena

Leave a Reply

